Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!

News

Equity to Hear from Candidates April 13

  • Share:

  • Pin on Pinterest

Actors' Equity Association will hold a national meeting April 13, at all three of its branch offices, to hear from candidates running in the upcoming election. The offices are located at 165 W. 46th St., 14th floor, in New York; 125 S. Clark St., Suite 1522, in Chicago; and 5757 Wilshire Blvd., Promenade Suite One, in Los Angeles.

The meeting will begin at 2 p.m. EDT, 1 p.m. CDT, and 11 a.m. PDT. Ballots will be mailed April 16, and the deadline for their receipt is June 1. The votes will be counted June 2. Among the open positions are president and first vice president. Equity spokesperson Maria Somma said the current office holders, Mark Zimmerman and Paige Price, will seek re-election, but she would not say whether they will face challengers. There are also a total of 19 council seats open among the three categories of principal performer, chorus performer, and stage manager, as follows:

Eastern Region: For principals, five seats with five-year terms and one seat with a four-year term. For chorus, two seats with five-year terms and one with a three-year term. For stage managers, two seats with five-year terms.

Central Region: One five-year seat for a principal performer.

Western Region: For principals, four seats with five-year terms and two seats with three-year terms. For chorus, one seat with a five-year term.

Members are encouraged to vote online. For details, go to www.actorsequity.org.

— Andrew Salomon

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: