Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!

News

SAG Award Nominations Open

  • Share:

The submission process for the 11th annual Screen Actors Guild Award nominations opened this week and will continue until 5 pm (PST), Thurs., Nov. 11.

Nominations can be submitted online at www.sagawards.org or obtain submission forms by calling the SAG Awards office at (323) 549-6707.

The SAG Award—called the Actor—is presented to actors for outstanding performances in motion pictures and prime-time television. Nominees in five film categories and eight television categories for performances in 2004, including three ensemble awards, will be chosen by two randomly selected panels totaling 4,200 SAG members from across the United States. With an actor's permission, producers, studios, networks, agents, managers, and press representatives may submit a performance for consideration. Actors may also submit their own performances.

The categories for theatrical motion pictures cover outstanding performances by male and female actors in leading and supporting roles, as well as outstanding performance by an entire cast. For prime-time broadcast and cable television programs, the categories cover male and female actors in a TV movie or miniseries, a drama series, and a comedy series, as well as drama and comedy series ensembles.

Of the top industry honors presented to performers, only the SAG Awards are selected entirely by actors' peers. Recipients will be announced at ceremonies on Sat., Feb. 5, 2005, to be telecast from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on TNT at 8 pm EST/PST, 7 pm CST, and 6 pm MST.

—Roger Armbrust

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: