2016 AFI Awards Honor 10 Films and 10 Series

Photo Source: Matthias Clamer/FX

The American Film Institute announced their picks for the best films and TV shows of the year today. Among the nominees were Paramount Pictures’ “Fences,” Lionsgate’s “La La Land,” and A24’s “Moonlight,” all of which are gaining steam entering the 2017 Oscar race.

In their list of 10 series, AFI singled out six buzzy freshman series: FX’s “Atlanta” and “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story,” Netflix’s “The Crown” and “Stranger Things,” HBO’s “The Night Of,” and NBC’s “This Is Us.” This year they also elected to hand an AFI Special Award to ESPN’s documentary series “O.J.: Made in America.”

A non-profit educational arts organization, AFI has provided initiatives that bolster the moving image arts since 1967. Their archive and catalog of feature films in particular seek to preserve the legacy of celluloid. The 45th AFI Life Achievement Award will be given to Diane Keaton June 8, 2017, in Los Angeles. Honorees will also convene Jan. 6, 2017, at a private luncheon. For the full list of 2016 honorees, see below.

“Hacksaw Ridge”
“Hell or High Water”
“La La Land”
“Manchester by the Sea”

“The Americans”
“Better Call Saul”
“The Crown”
“Game of Thrones”
“The Night Of”
“The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
“Stranger Things”
“This Is Us”

Ready to win some awards? Check out our film audition listings! And for acting advice, visit Backstage’s YouTube channel:

Jack Smart
Jack Smart is the awards editor at Backstage, where he covers all things Emmy, SAG, Oscar, and Tony Awards. He also produces and hosts Backstage’s awards podcast “In the Envelope” and has interviewed some of the biggest stars of stage and screen.
See full bio and articles here!