Back Stage Bistros: Cabaret Stars Honored

Article Image

At a special gala on April 7, Back Stage will honor the recipients of its 23rd annual Bistro Awards, which cite 30 artists for outstanding excellence in cabaret and distinguished work in 2007.

Bistro Award winners have been recognized for the demonstration of the uniqueness of their art in numerous categories, honoring outstanding musicians, vocalists, duets, European songs, comic material, songwriters, and a variety of other performance art and music.

Veteran singer Marilyn Maye will be honored with the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award, previously given to Betty Buckley, Dame Cleo Laine, and Bobby Short.

The evening will feature performances from all Bistro-winning artists and shows. Back Stage Editor-at-Large Sherry Eaker will host the event, with comic Jim David and actress-comedienne Marilyn Sokol as guest emcees.

The Bistro Awards will be held Monday, April 7 at Gotham Comedy Club, 208 W. 23rd St. A champagne reception for the winners and Premiere ticket holders starts at 5 p.m.; the awards show starts promptly at 6:30 p.m. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit; call (646) 654-5725, or email [email protected].

Founded in 1960, Back Stage is the leading source for inside information on the performing arts.

A complete list of winners is below.

Outstanding Musical Duo

Pinky Winters and Sir Richard Rodney Bennett

Outstanding Major Engagement

Tony DeSare

Outstanding Song & Dance Man

Jeffry Denman

Outstanding Characterization


Unique Artist

Poor Baby Bree

Outstanding Theme Shows

"Kabarett FĂȘte," produced by Karen and Rob Kohler

"Lavender Songs: Queer Berlin Cabaret From Weimar to Hitler," conceived and performed by Jeremy Lawrence, directed by Jason Jacobs.

Outstanding Special Musical Material

"I'm Not doing My Cabaret," lyric by Jason Graae

Outstanding Musical Comedy Number

Melanie Adelman and Ellie Dvorkin's "Fagnet," music by Noah Diamond and Amanda Sisk

Outstanding Recording

Linda Kosut's "Long as You're Living"

Outstanding Theme Show

Greg Purnhagen's "Babalu-Cy!," director Leonard Peters, musical director David Cook

Outstanding Musical Comedy Performer

Christine Pedi's "Great Dames"

Outstanding Vocalists

Bryan Batt

Marianne Challis

Stacy Sullivan

Outstanding Debut

Jonathan Whitton

Outstanding Revue

"When the Lights Go On Again," conceived, written, and directed by Bill Daugherty, produced by Max Weintraub

Special Awards

Bart Greenberg, Any Wednesday series at Barnes & Noble

Ronny Whyte, Midtown Jazz at Midday series at St. Peter's

Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award

Gabrielle Stravelli