Century Center to Honor Producer Daryl Roth

Daryl Roth, the legit producer who opened her eponymous theatre at the corner of East 15th and Park Avenue South, will receive an award Mon., Dec. 11 for her contributions to the revitalization of the Union Square area.

Several theatre professionals who have worked with Roth will attend the 7:30 pm ceremony, including Marian Seldes, who starred in the Roth-produced "Three Tall Women"; Marge Champion, the director-choreographer-dancer who will appear in the Roundabout Theatre's Broadway revival of "Follies" next year; and David Marshall Grant, the actor-playwright whose "Snakebit" was also produced by Roth. "Snakebit" played the Century Center for the Performing Arts, the organization that created the award.

Roth has the distinction of producing three Pulitzer Prize-winning plays: "Three Tall Women," "How I Learned to Drive," and "Wit." Although she has produced several shows on Broadway—including the current Manhattan Theatre transfers "Proof" and "The Tale of the Allergist's Wife"—many of her productions have played in the Union Square area, at the Century Center, the Daryl Roth Theatre (currently home to "De La Guarda"), and the Union Square Theatre ("Three Tall Women," "Wit"). She has been named to the boards of directors of the Lincoln Center Theater, the National Foundation for Jewish Culture, and the Vineyard Theatre. She co-anchored a PBS news television program, "New York Theatre Review," and has been a guest lecturer at Columbia University, New York University, the Harvard Club, and the Women's Arts Coalition, as well as other organizations. Earlier this year she received the first-ever Tisch School of the Arts Award, in recognition of "The Bomb-Itty of Errors," a rap adaptation of Shake-speare's "Comedy of Errors" written by Tisch students and produced by Roth in a NoHo theatre space.

Not content merely to receive awards, Roth has also established "The Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Awards" to honor a director or playwright who has demonstrated excellence in his or her given field. It is given annually and establishes a residency at the Vineyard, as well as other not-for-profit theatres. Recipients to date include Michael Mayer, Mark Brokaw, Sinan Lonel, Steven Williford, and Sybille Pearson.