Clive Barnes Awards Winners Announced

Photo Source: Joan Marcus

This year’s fourth annual Clive Barnes Award winners were announced at the Walter Reade Theatre Jan. 6. The prizes were given to Jonny Orsini for his work as the sweet but naive character Ned in “The Nance” (pictured), and the Martha Graham dancer Lloyd Mayor, who performed the role of Achilles in “The Show (Achilles Heels).” Both recipients also received $5,000.

Founded by his wife in 2009 to commemorate the life of New York Times theater critic, the Clive Barnes Awards provide nods and cash to two outstanding artists each year. Barnes was known for his knack for discovering young talent—which included Mikhail Baryshnikov and David Mametearly in their careers, and this award is meant to carry on his legacy.

This year’s theater nominees were a vast and talented bunch that included Amber Iman, who played Nina Simone in “Soul Doctor,” Aaron Clifton Moten (“The Flick”), and Phillipa Soo (“Natasha, Pierre, and the Great Comet of 1812”).

The nominees for the year’s outstanding dancers were Xiaochuan Xie from the Martha Graham Dance Company, Talli Jackson of the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company, and Calvin Royal III of the American Ballet Theatre. All nominees receive $500.

Winners and nominees are determined by a panel of experts; this year’s committee included Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Damian Woetzel, and Craig Wright.