Equity Announces Election Results

As expected, Mark Zimmerman, Paige Price, and Ira Mont retained their positions as president, vice president, and third vice president of Actors' Equity Association when the results of the stage union's national elections were announced May 18.

The triumvirate has led Equity, which has about 49,000 members, since 2006. Zimmerman took over when Patrick Quinn left the post to become the union's national executive director. However, Quinn died of a heart attack before taking the top staff position, and John Connolly, former president of the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, took over as national executive director in early 2007.

Joining Zimmerman, Price, and Mont as officers are Kim Jordon, second vice president; Sandra Karas, secretary treasurer; Dev Kennedy, Central Region vice president; Doug Carfrae, Western Region vice president; and Kate Shindle, Eastern Region vice president.

In addition to the officers, 17 Council seats were filled. In the Eastern Region, Stephen Bogardus, Conard Fowkes, and Tim Jerome won five-year terms in seats held by principal actors. James Moye was elected to a principal seat for a three-year term. Elected to five-year terms in the chorus category were Jennifer Cody, Jennifer Smith, Joanne Borts, and Melissa Robinette; Stas Kmiec was elected to a three-year term in the same category. Marjorie Horne and Jess W. Speaker III won five-year terms in seats held by stage managers.

In the Central Region, Madeline Fallon was re-elected to a five-year term in a principal seat. In the Western Region, Kevin McMahon, Kelly Ground, Clarinda Ross, and Greg North won five-year terms in principal seats. Kim Arnett was elected to a five-year chorus seat.

Voting Yes: Dylan Baker, Mark-Linn Baker, and Ed Begley Jr., along with Screen Actors Guild national board members Adam Arkin, Amy Brenneman, and Ken Howard, are among the 34 actors who have made videos in support of SAG's tentative TV-film contract with producers. The videos appear on the guild's website, www.sag.org. The Hollywood-based faction Membership First, which opposes the agreement, will have information about the contract on its website, www.membershipfirst.com. Ballots were scheduled to be mailed to SAG members on May 19, with the results announced June 9. A simple majority is required for passage.