2011 Fred and Adele Astaire Award Nominations Announced

Photo Source: Joan Marcus
Choreographer and director Lee Roy Reams announced Tuesday the nominations for the 29th annual Fred and Adele Astaire Awards, which honor the best in dance and choreography on stage and in film. The Broadway musical "Catch Me If You Can" garnered the most nominations, with six. "The Book of Mormon" and "War Horse" were also among the nominees.

The awards will be distributed May 15 in a ceremony at New York University's Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. During the show, renowned dancer, choreographer, and instructor Jacques d'Amboise will receive the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the late drama critic with whom Fred Astaire founded the awards.

Nominees for excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway:

Broadway Choreographer

Rob Ashford - "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying"
Marguerite Derricks - "Wonderland"
Kathleen Marshall - "Anything Goes"
Jerry Mitchell - "Catch Me If You Can"
Casey Nicholaw - "The Book of Mormon"
Toby Sedgwick - "War Horse"
Susan Stroman - "The Scottsboro Boys"
Anthony Van Laast - "Sister Act"

Male Dancer, Broadway

Nick Adams - "Priscilla Queen of the Desert"
Norbert Leo Butz - "Catch Me If You Can"
Colman Domingo - "The Scottsboro Boys"
Colin Donnell - "Anything Goes"
Josh Gad - "The Book of Mormon"
Joshua Henry - "The Scottsboro Boys"
Daniel Radcliffe - "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying"
Aaron Tveit - "Catch Me If You Can"

Female Dancer, Broadway

Rachel de Benedet - "Catch Me If You Can"
Sutton Foster - "Anything Goes"
Jennifer Frankel - "Catch Me If You Can"
J. Elaine Marcos - "Priscilla Queen of the Desert"
Patina Miller - "Sister Act"
Laura Osnes - "Anything Goes"
Angie Schworer - "Catch Me If You Can"
Megan Sikora - "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying"
Samantha Zack - "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying"

Nominees for excellence in choreography on film:

Film Choreographer

Benjamin Millepied - "Black Swan"
Denise Faye/co-choreographer Joey Pizzi - "Burlesque"
Michael Flatley - "Lord of the Dance 3D"
Graeme Murphy and Janet Vernon - "Mao's Last Dancer"
Jamal Sims - "Step Up 3D"
Benoit-Swan Pouffer - "The Adjustment Bureau"