2012 Gotham Awards Winners Announced

Photo Source: Getty Images

“Moonrise Kingdom,” “Beast of the Southern Wild,” and “Your Sister’s Sister” were among the honorees at IFP’s 22nd annual Gotham Independent Film Awards, which kicked off this year’s film awards season at a Nov. 26 ceremony in New York.

Wes Anderson’s “Moonrise Kingdom” was named Best Feature over nominees “The Master,” “Bernie,” “The Loneliest Planet,” and “Middle of Nowhere.” But “Middle of Nowhere” star Emayatzy Corinealdi earned the Breakthrough Actor award for her performance in the Sundance Film Festival favorite.

“Beasts Of The Southern Wild” director Benh Zeitlin won the Breakthrough Director Award and was also presented with the inaugural Bingham Ray Award, dedicated to the veteran indie film executive who died in January.

“Your Sister’s Sister,” starring Mark Duplass, Emily Blunt, and Rosemarie DeWitt, was the surprise winner of the award for Best Ensemble Performance, a crowded category that included “Moonrise Kingdom,” “Silver Linings Playbook,” “Bernie,” and “Safety Not Guaranteed.”

Actors Marion Cotillard (“Ruse and Bone”) and Matt Damon (“Promised Land”) and director David O. Russell (“Silver Linings Playbook”) each received honorary lifetime achievement awards.

The ceremony was hosted by comedian Mike Birbiglia, who was nominated as a Breakthrough Actor for his film “Sleepwalk With Me,” which he also wrote and directed. Awards presenters included Oliver Platt, Willem Dafoe, Amy Adams, Billy Crudup, Ira Glass, Jack Black, Emily Blunt, Alex Karpovsky, and Melanie Lynskey.

See the complete list of winners and nominees below.

Best Feature
Winner: “Moonrise Kingdom”
“The Loneliest Planet”
“The Master”
“Middle Of Nowhere”

Best Documentary
Winner: “How To Survive A Plague”
“Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present”
“Room 237”
“The Waiting Room”

Best Ensemble Performance
Winner: “Your Sister’s Sister”
“Moonrise Kingdom”
“Safety Not Guaranteed”
“Silver Linings Playbook”

Breakthrough Actor
Winner: Emayatzy Corinealdi (“Middle Of Nowhere”)
Mike Birbiglia (“Sleepwalk With Me”)
Thure Lindhardt (“Keep The Lights On”)
Melanie Lynskey (“Hello, I Must Be Going”)
Quvenzhané Wallis (“Beasts Of The Southern Wild”)

Breakthrough Director
Winner: Benh Zeitlin (“Beasts Of The Southern Wild”)
Zal Batmanglij (“Sound Of My Voice”)
Brian M. Cassidy and Melanie Shatzky (“Francine”)
Jason Cortlund and Julia Halperin (“Now, Forager”)
Antonio Méndez Esparza (“Aquí y Allá”)

Calvin Klein Female Filmmaker Award
Stacie Passon (“Concussion”)

Bingham Ray Award
Benh Zeitlin (“Beasts Of The Southern Wild”)

Best Film Not Playing At A Theater Near You
“An Oversimplification Of Her Beauty” (written and directed by Terence Nance)

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award