‘Great Comet,’ ‘Hello, Dolly!’ Top 71st Annual Tony Award Nominations

Article Image
Photo Source: Julieta Cervantes

“Dear Evan Hansen,” “Come From Away,” “Oslo,” and “Sweat” are among the nominees for the 71st annual Tony Awards, announced May 2 by Jane Krakowski and Christopher Jackson at Lincoln Center’s New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. With 13 new musicals, 10 new plays, and 12 total revivals eligible in the 2016–17 Broadway season, competition proved fierce this year for the American theater’s top prize.

Topping the nominations with 12 total was hit musical “Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812,” including nods for stars Josh Groban, Denée Benton, and Lucas Steele. Jerry Zaks’ hit revival of “Hello, Dolly!” grabbed 10 nods, including recognition for its leading lady Bette Midler, David Hyde Pierce, Gavin Creel, and Kate Baldwin.

READ: ‘Hello, Dolly!’ Parades Forth With 10 Drama Desk Nominations

“A Doll’s House, Part 2” dominated in the play categories, earning eight nominations, including for playwright Lucas Hnath, director Sam Gold, and all four of its stars: Laurie Metcalf, Chris Cooper, Condola Rashad, and last year’s Tony winner for supporting actress in a play, Jayne Houdyshell. Also nominated for best play are “Oslo,” “Sweat,” and “Indecent.”

As was announced May 1, the esteemed Regional Theatre Tony Award will go to the Dallas Theater Center of Dallas, Texas, in recognition of it 60 years of innovative and dynamic programming. Award-winning actor James Earl Jones will be this year’s recipient of the Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre.

To be hosted by Kevin Spacey and aired live from Radio City Music Hall on the CBS Television Network June 11, the 2017 Tony Awards ceremony will again be presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. For a partial list of the nominees, see below. For a full list and more information visit tonyawards.com.

Best Play
“A Doll’s House, Part 2”

Best Musical
“Come From Away”
“Dear Evan Hansen”
“Groundhog Day The Musical”
“Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812”

Best Revival of a Play
“August Wilson’s Jitney”
“Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes”
“Present Laughter”
“Six Degrees of Separation”

Best Revival of a Musical
“Hello, Dolly!”
“Miss Saigon”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play
Denis Arndt, “Heisenberg”
Chris Cooper, “A Doll's House, Part 2”
Corey Hawkins, “Six Degrees of Separation”
Kevin Kline, “Present Laughter”
Jefferson Mays, “Oslo”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play
Cate Blanchett, “The Present”
Jennifer Ehle, “Oslo”
Sally Field, “The Glass Menagerie”
Laura Linney, “Lillian Hellman's The Little Foxes”
Laurie Metcalf, “A Doll's House, Part 2”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical
Christian Borle, “Falsettos”
Josh Groban, “Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812”
Andy Karl, “Groundhog Day The Musical”
David Hyde Pierce, “Hello, Dolly!”
Ben Platt, “Dear Evan Hansen”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical
Denée Benton, “Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812”
Christine Ebersole, “War Paint”
Patti LuPone, “War Paint”
Bette Midler, “Hello, Dolly!”
Eva Noblezada, “Miss Saigon”

Ready to hit the Great White Way? Check out Backstage’s Broadway audition listings!