New York Announces Governor's Arts Awardees

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Horton Foote and Ballet Master Peter Martins of the New York City Ballet will be among the recipients of the 2000 Governor's Arts Awards, to be presented Mon., Nov. 20 at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Performing artists who will present awards to honorees include Kathleen Chalfant, Jasmine Guy, Kitty Carlisle Hart, Heather Head-ley, Cheryl Ladd, John Ritter, and Beverly Sills, with Rosie Perez acting as master of ceremonies. Other celebrity presenters will include New York Yankee Jorge Posada, newscaster Dan Rather, household helpful hinter Martha Stewart, and novelist Tom Wolfe.

New York Governor George Pataki said of the recipients that he is "proud to honor their talent, their achievement, and their contribution to New York State."

The awards were established in 1966 by Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller to recognize the best of the arts community and to celebrate outstanding individuals and organizations in their fields. Nominations are made by the public, selected by the New York Council on the Arts (NYSCA), and confirmed by the governor. This year's recipients, in addition to Foote and Martins, are sculptor Mark di Suvero, jazz musician Jimmy Heath, former NYSCA Chair Earle I. Mack, portraitist Milton Rogovin, Bronx Arts Council Executive Director William Aguado, as well as the Bronx Arts Council itself, the Frederick Douglas Creative Arts Center, the Long Island Museum of American Art, History, & Carriages, the North American Fiddlers Hall of Fame and Museum, and Traditional Arts in Upstate New York.

Each honoree will receive an award designed by the late Roy Lichtenstein, who was himself a recipient of a Governor's Arts Award.

Related Articles