Nominees Announced for 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards

Photo Source: Matthew Murphy

The Drama Desk Awards celebrated their 60th anniversary today with the announcement of the 2015 nominees. Recognizing outstanding work on, Off-, and Off-Off-Broadway, the awards are a significant step on the road to the Tonys. The 2014–15 Drama Desk nominating committee is comprised of chairperson Barbara Siegel, as well as Benjamin Coleman, Adrian Dimanlig, Steve Garrin, Mahayana Landowne, and Steve Marsh.

Judith Light, who earned Drama Desk (and Tony) Awards for “Other Desert Cities” and “The Assembled Parties,” and Jessie Mueller, last year’s Drama Desk (and Tony) winner for “Beautiful: The Carole King Musical,” announced the 2015 nominees at 54 Below. Topping the list was “Hamilton,” Lin-Manuel Miranda’s new musical at the Public Theater, with 13 nominations, followed by Broadway’s “An American in Paris” with 12. The other outstanding musical nominees included “Fly By Night,” “Pretty Filthy,” and “Something Rotten!

Also earning numerous nominations were John Kander and Fred Ebb’s last show “The Visit,” West End transfers “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” and “Wolf Hall,” and Lincoln Center’s revival of “The King and I.” Among the lead acting nominees were Bradley Cooper, Ben Miles, Helen Mirren, Carey Mulligan, Brian d’Arcy James, Matthew Morrison, Kristin Chenoweth, and Erin Davie.

This year’s Drama Desk Awards ceremony will be held May 31 at Town Hall presented by and hosted by Laura Benanti. For tickets to the show, visit

For a full list of nominees, click here.