Nominees Announced for 8th Annual National High School Musical Theatre Awards

Photo Source: Press Line Photos/ - Zachary Levi, Jimmy Awards host

The nominees for this year’s National High School Musical Theatre Awards were announced June 16. Representing 31 theaters across the United States, the 62 students set to compete for the best actor and actress Jimmy Awards will perform at the June 27 presentation at the Minskoff Theatre in New York City.

Zachary Levi, Tony nominee and star of Broadway’s revival of “She Loves Me,” will host the eighth annual celebration of young musical theater talent. Tickets are available to the public and can be purchased here and here.

The Lone Star State is repping with the eight nominees from four different Texan theater organizations, as is California with eight. Other contenders hail from Georgia, Colorado, Iowa, and more!

READ: “A Breathing Exercise Every Singer Should Do”

All nominees were winners in their respective regional awards programs and will prepare to compete at the Jimmy’s with a 10-day training course led by theater professionals and faculty members from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts’ New Studio on Broadway.

Experienced theater-makers will comprise the panel of judges who will determine this year’s award winners. Past judges include casting directors Bernie Telsey and Tara Rubin, head of Disney Theatrical Group Thomas Schumacher, and Carnegie Mellon’s Pre-College Drama Program Award Program representative Gary Kline.

“Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level—several of whom have already been cast in Broadway, Touring and West End productions,” according to a press release.

Click here for the full list of nominees!

Inspired by this post? Check out our theater audition listings!