5 Nominees Announced for United Solo Special Award

Photo Source: Matthew Murphy

Solo theater enthusiasts—all theater enthusiasts!—should mark their calendars: the world’s largest solo theater festival will run Sept. 17–Nov. 22 at New York City’s Theatre Row.

United Solo will be presenting 150 shows from six continents, a celebration of the art of braving the stage all alone. Whether it’s comedy, drama, new work, or new adaptations you’re looking for, United Solo performances are fascinating to take in and inexpensive to attend.

The festival will culminate with the announcement of the United Solo Special Award award winner. This year’s nominees are Tom Dugan, Cush Jumbo, James Lecesne (pictured above in “The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey”), Benjamin Scheuer, and Wanda Sykes, all five of whom have received acclaim for their solo work. Recognizing those at the top of the craft, the award has previously been given to Anna Deavere Smith, Patti LuPone, John Leguizamo, and Fiona Shaw. The 2014 winner was none other than Billy Crystal.

For more information on the biggest solo theater festival on the planet, visit unitedsolo.org.

Inspired by this post? Check out our theater audition listings!

Jack Smart
Jack Smart is the awards editor at Backstage, where he covers all things Emmy, SAG, Oscar, and Tony Awards. He also produces and hosts Backstage’s awards podcast “In the Envelope” and has interviewed some of the biggest stars of stage and screen.
See full bio and articles here!