The 2024 Academy Awards: ‘Oppenheimer’ Leads the Night With 7 Wins

Article Image
Photo Source: Melinda Sue Gordon/Universal Pictures/Atsushi Nishijima/Focus Features/NEON/Cinetic Media


On March 10, the 96th annual Academy Awards ceremony, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, honored the best films, performances, and creative and technical work of 2023. 

“Oppenheimer,” Christopher Nolan’s biopic about the inventor of the atomic bomb, was the night’s biggest winner. The film went into the ceremony with the most nominations at 13 and ended up taking home seven Oscars, including best picture. Other victories for “Oppenheimer” included best director for Nolan, actor in a lead role for Cillian Murphy, score, editing, and cinematography. 

Robert Downey Jr. scored his first Oscar for his supporting turn in “Oppenheimer” as U.S. Atomic Energy Commission head Lewis Strauss. The actor was previously nominated for “Chaplin” in 2003 and “Tropic Thunder” in 2009. 

“I’d like to thank my terrible childhood and the Academy, in that order,” Downey said in his acceptance speech. He went on to thank his wife, Susan Downey, remarking: “She found me a snarling rescue pet and loved me back to life.” 

Yorgos Lanthimos’ surreal fantasy “Poor Things” tested the supremacy of “Oppenheimer” early in the night, racking up wins for costume design, makeup and hair, and production design. Later in the ceremony, the film also earned Emma Stone her second lead actress Oscar for the role of Bella Baxter, a reanimated corpse who sets out on a journey of enlightenment. Stone previously took home gold for 2016’s “La La Land.” 

The night kicked off with first-time nominee Da’Vine Joy Randolph winning best supporting actress for the role of grieving cafeteria manager Mary Lamb in Alexander Payne’s “The Holdovers.” 

“I thank…all the people who have stepped in my path and been there for me, who have ushered me and guided me,” she said in her acceptance speech. “I am so grateful to all you beautiful people out here. For so long, I’ve always wanted to be different, and now I realize I just need to be myself.” 

Read on for the full rundown of winners.

Oscars 2024: full list of nominees and winners

Best Picture

“American Fiction”
“Anatomy of a Fall”
“The Holdovers”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Oppenheimer” (winner)
“Past Lives”
“Poor Things”
“The Zone of Interest” 

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”
Colman Domingo, “Rustin”
Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer” (winner)
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction” 

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening, “NYAD”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Carey Mulligan, “Maestro”
Emma Stone, “Poor Things” (winner)

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Sterling K. Brown, “American Fiction”
Robert De Niro, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer” (winner)
Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”
Mark Ruffalo, “Poor Things” 

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”
Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”
America Ferrera, “Barbie”
Jodie Foster, “NYAD”
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers” (winner)

International Feature Film

“Io Capitano” (Italy)
“Perfect Days” (Japan)
“Society of the Snow” (Spain)
“The Teachers’ Lounge” (Germany)
“The Zone of Interest” (United Kingdom) (winner)

Documentary Feature Film

“Bobi Wine: The People’s President”
“The Eternal Memory”
“Four Daughters”
“To Kill a Tiger”
“20 Days in Mariupol” (winner)

Animated Feature Film

“The Boy and the Heron” (winner)
“Robot Dreams”
“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse” 


Justine Triet, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Martin Scorsese, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer” (winner)
Yorgos Lanthimos, “Poor Things”
Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest” 

Original Screenplay

Justine Triet and Arthur Harari, “Anatomy of a Fall” (winner)
David Hemingson, “The Holdovers”
Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer, “Maestro”
Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik, “May December”
Celine Song, “Past Lives” 

Adapted Screenplay

Cord Jefferson, “American Fiction” (winner)
Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, “Barbie”
Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”
Tony McNamara, “Poor Things”
Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest” 


Edward Lachman, “El Conde”
Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Matthew Libatique, “Maestro”
Hoyte Van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer” (winner)
Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things” 

Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran, “Barbie”
Jacqueline West, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Janty Yates and David Crossman, “Napoleon”
Ellen Mirojnick, “Oppenheimer”
Holly Waddington, “Poor Things” (winner)

Original Score

“American Fiction”
“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Oppenheimer” (winner)
“Poor Things” 

Original Song

“The Fire Inside” from “Flamin’ Hot”
“I’m Just Ken” from “Barbie”
“It Never Went Away” from “American Symphony”
“Wahzhazhe (A Song for My People)” from “Killers of the Flower Moon”
“What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie” (winner)

Film Editing

“Anatomy of a Fall”
“The Holdovers”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Oppenheimer” (winner)
“Poor Things”


“The Creator”
“Mission: Impossible—Dead Reckoning Part One”
“The Zone of Interest” (winner)

Visual Effects

“The Creator”
“Godzilla Minus One” (winner)
“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
“Mission: Impossible—Dead Reckoning Part One”

Makeup and Hairstyling

“Poor Things” (winner)
“Society of the Snow”

Production Design

“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Poor Things” (winner)

Documentary Short Film

“The ABCs of Book Banning”
“The Barber of Little Rock”
“Island in Between”
“The Last Repair Shop” (winner)
“Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó”

Animated Short Film

“Letter to a Pig”
“Ninety-Five Senses”
“Our Uniform”
“War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John and Yoko” (winner) 

Live Action Short Film

“The After”
“Knight of Fortune”
“Red, White and Blue”
“The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar” (winner)