Playwright Taylor Mac + More Artists Among 2017 MacArthur ‘Genius’ Recipients

Photo Source: John D. and CatherineT. MacArthur Foundation

Comprised of an eclectic lineup of artists from the realm of theater, as well as musicians, painters, mathematicians, and beyond, the recipients of the 2017 John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation fellowships have been announced.

Commonly referred to as “Genius grants,” the fellowships were this year awarded to theatrical artists Taylor Mac, an actor, playwright, director, and performance artist, and playwright Annie Baker, who’s already won a Pulitzer Prize for Drama for her play, “The Flick.”

Mac and Baker are joined by Grammy Award-winning musician Rhiannon Giddens and opera director Yuval Sharon, among others.

The fellowships recognize talent who have “shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits,” and award recipients with a “no strings attached” sum of $625,000 to be used towards their creative endeavors, paid out over five years.

Recipients from years past include “Hamilton” creator Lin-Manuel Miranda, set designer Mimi Lien, playwright Samuel D. Hunter, choreographer Alexei Ratmansky, and the playwright Lynn Nottage.

You can see the full list of 2017 fellows here.

Read more industry news on Backstage.