33rd Lucille Lortel Awards Crown ‘School Girls,’ ‘Cost of Living,’ ‘KPOP’

Photo Source: “KPOP”: Courtesy Ben Arons

Hosted by Laura Benanti and Jeremy Shamos, the 33rd annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway held May 6 at NYU Skirball Center was a reminder of the strength of today’s New York theater scene. Benefiting the Actors Fund, the event featured a starry lineup of presenters, among them Mike Birbiglia, Brandon Victor Dixon, Tina Fey, Joshua Henry, Katrina Lenk, Patti Murin, Zachary Quinto, Andrew Rannells, and Tony Shalhoub.

The celebration culminated in a thrilling tie for one of the Off-Broadway League’s top awards: Outstanding Play. Both Jocelyn Bioh’s “School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play” and Martyna Majok’s Pulitzer champ “Cost of Living” jointly took the prize. Triumphing in the corresponding musical category was the Ars Nova production of “KPOP,” which in addition earned two acting awards for Ashley Park and Jason Tam.

READ: “How Ashley Park Made ‘Fetch’ Happen—and Got Cast in ‘Mean Girls’ ”

Also claiming three awards was Amy Herzog’s “Mary Jane” from NYTW, recognized in the directing and lead acting categories for Anne Kaufman and Carrie Coon, respectively. Sean Carvajal earned the leading play actor honor for Outstanding Revival winner “Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train,” while Damon Daunno of “The Lucky Ones” won for leading actor in a musical. And David Cale’s play “Harry Clarke,” performed by Billy Crudup, won in the Outstanding Solo Show category.

The ceremony also posthumously inducted composer Michael Friedman onto the Lucille Lortel Theatre’s Playwrights’ Sidewalk in the West Village. Writer-performer Eve Ensler was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award by LaChanze, and WP Theater (formerly Women’s Project Theater) was singled out for their impressive body of work. For more information and a full list of 2018 Lucille Lortel Award winners, visit www.lortelaward.com.

Check out Backstage’s theater audition listings!