‘The Robber Bridegroom’ Among Off-Broadway Alliance Nominees

Photo Source: Joan Marcus/Leslie Kritzer and “The Robber Bridegroom” cast

The next “Hamilton” might be among this year’s crop of Off-Broadway Alliance Award nominees.

Nominations for their 6th Annual Off-Broadway Alliance Awards, which honor commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened during the 2015–16 season, have been announced.

Lin-Manuel Miranda’s “Hamilton” won last year’s Off-Broadway Alliance Award for Best New Musical.

Mike Birbiglia (“Thank God for Jokes”), Staceyann Chin (“MotherStruck!”), James Lecesne (“The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey”), Joanna Rush (“Kick”), and Andrew Schneider (“Youarenowhere”) are among this year’s nominees for Best Solo Performance.

Broadway publicist Merle Debuskey, Tony Award–winning performer Linda Lavin, director and Playwrights Horizons founder Robert Moss, and Tony-nominated actor Lois Smith are set to receive Legend of Off-Broadway honors.

Meanwhile Hall of Fame Awards will be presented posthumously to longtime married actors Anne Jackson and Eli Wallach, actor and comedian Anne Meara, as well as writer, composer, musician, and theater director Elizabeth Swados.

Awards are handed out in seven competitive categories, including Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Musical Revival, Best Play Revival, Best Unique Theatrical Experience, Best Solo Performance, and Best Family Show.

Previous winners of Off-Broadway Alliance Awards include the aforementioned “Hamilton,” as well as “Fun Home,” “Hand to God,” “Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike,” “Freud’s Last Session,” “Buyer & Cellar,” and “SILENCE! The Musical.”

Winners for the 6th Annual Off-Broadway Alliance Awards will be announced May 18.

Below is a complete list of this year’s Off-Broadway Alliance Award nominees and honorary winners.

Best New Musical
“Daddy Long Legs”
“Dear Evan Hansen”
“Who’s Your Baghdaddy?”

Best New Play
“Exit Strategy”
“O, Earth”
“The Qualms”

Best Musical Revival
“Once Upon a Mattress”
“The Robber Bridegroom”
“Rothschild & Sons”

Best Play Revival
“Incident at Vichy”
“The School for Scandal”
“Two Gentlemen of Verona”
“Widowers’ Houses”
“Women Without Men”

Best Unique Theatrical Experience
“Angel Reapers”
“Sense & Sensibility”
“Shear Madness”
“Standard Time”

Best Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, “Thank God for Jokes”
Staceyann Chin, “MotherStruck!”
James Lecesne, “The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey”
Joanna Rush, “Kick”
Andrew Schneider, “Youarenowhere”

Best Family Show
“The Commedia Rapunzel”
“The Pirate La Dee Da”
“The Velveteen Rabbit”
“The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show”
“Young Charles Dickens”

Legend of Off-Broadway Honorees
Merle Debuskey
Linda Lavin
Robert Moss
Lois Smith

Hall of Fame Awards
Anne Jackson and Eli Wallach
Anne Meara
Elizabeth Swados

Inspired by this post? Check out our theater audition listings!