‘Oppenheimer’ and ‘The Bear’ Win Big at the 30th SAG Awards

Article Image
Photo Source: Melinda Sue Gordon/Universal Pictures/Chuck Hodes/FX/Apple TV+/Liane Hentscher/HBO

The 30th SAG Awards took place on Feb. 24 at L.A.’s Shrine Auditorium and Expo Hall. The event, opened by two-time SAG winner Idris Elba, celebrated the crème de la crème of last season’s film and television performances.

In film, “Barbie” and “Oppenheimer” led the charge with four nominations each, but the latter ended up on top: “Oppenheimer” took home statuettes for performance by a cast in a motion picture, male actor in a leading role (Cillian Murphy), and male actor in a supporting role (Robert Downey Jr.). The wins point to likely future success at the Academy Awards on March 10; last year, all five SAG film categories (with the Oscars’ best picture standing for SAG’s best ensemble) lined up with the eventual victors on Oscar night. 

This also bodes well for Lily Gladstone, who snagged best female actor in a leading role for “Killers of the Flower Moon,” and Da’Vine Joy Randolph, who was named best female actor in a supporting role for “The Holdovers.” 

On the TV side, SAG said, “Yes, chef!” to “The Bear,” awarding the series best comedy ensemble, plus best actor and actress for Jeremy Allen White and Ayo Edebiri, respectively. Meanwhile, “Succession” won best drama ensemble for its final season; when he accepted the award, Alan Ruck exclaimed that the cast “caught lightning in a bottle.” 

Elizabeth Debicki took home best actress in a drama for “The Crown,” while Pedro Pascal won best actor for “The Last of Us.” Ali Wong and Steven Yeun both triumphed in the limited series category for their performances on “Beef.” 

Jennifer Aniston presented the Life Achievement Award to EGOT winner Barbra Streisand, who said in her acceptance speech that she’s “always believed in the power of the truth.” 

Notable moments from the evening include Debicki ditching her shoes as she walked onstage to accept her award; Gladstone beginning and ending her acceptance speech in her native Blackfoot language; Murphy thanking his “Oppenhomies”; and SAG president Fran Drescher giving a rousing speech to her fellow union members, whom she called “champions” filled with “courage and conviction.” 

Read on for the full list of winners.

Full list of winners


Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture
“American Fiction”
“The Color Purple”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”

Male Actor in a Leading Role 
Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”
Colman Domingo, “Rustin”
Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”

Female Actor in a Leading Role 
Annette Bening, “NYAD”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Carey Mulligan, “Maestro”
Margot Robbie, “Barbie”
Emma Stone, “Poor Things”

Male Actor in a Supporting Role 
Sterling K. Brown, “American Fiction”
Willem Dafoe, “Poor Things”
Robert De Niro, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer”
Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”

Female Actor in a Supporting Role 
Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”
Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”
Penélope Cruz, “Ferrari”
Jodie Foster, “NYAD”
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers”

Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture
“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”
“John Wick: Chapter 4”
“Mission: Impossible—Dead Reckoning Part One”


Drama Series Ensemble
“The Crown”
“The Gilded Age”
“The Last of Us”
“The Morning Show”

Comedy Series Ensemble
“Abbott Elementary”
“The Bear”
“Only Murders in the Building”
“Ted Lasso”

Male Actor in a Drama Series
Brian Cox, “Succession”
Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”
Kieran Culkin, “Succession”
Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession”
Pedro Pascal, “The Last of Us”

Female Actor in a Drama Series
Jennifer Aniston, “The Morning Show”
Elizabeth Debicki, “The Crown”
Bella Ramsey, “The Last of Us”
Keri Russell, “The Diplomat”
Sarah Snook, “Succession”

Male Actor in a Comedy Series
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Bill Hader, “Barry”
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”
Jeremy Allen White, “The Bear”

Female Actor in a Comedy Series
Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Rachel Brosnahan, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary”
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear”
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Male Actor in a TV Movie or Miniseries
Matt Bomer, “Fellow Travelers”
Jon Hamm, “Fargo”
David Oyelowo, “Lawmen: Bass Reeves”
Tony Shalhoub, “Mr. Monk’s Last Case: A Monk Movie”
Steven Yeun, “Beef”

Female Actor in a TV Movie or Miniseries
Uzo Aduba, “Painkiller”
Kathryn Hahn, “Tiny Beautiful Things”
Brie Larson, “Lessons in Chemistry”
Bel Powley, “A Small Light”
Ali Wong, “Beef”

Stunt Ensemble in a TV Series
“The Last of Us”
“The Mandalorian”