‘Star Wars,’ ‘The Big Short,’ ‘Spotlight’ Among Artios Awards Nominees

Article Image
Photo Source: Courtesy of Disney

The Casting Society of America (CSA) announced this morning its Artios Awards nominations for the year’s best casting in feature film across seven categories: Big Budget (Comedy), Big Budget (Drama), Studio or Independent (Comedy), Studio or Independent (Drama), Low Budget (Comedy), Low Budget (Drama), and Animation. Voting for CSA’s 31st annual Artios Awards will continue through Jan. 8 before its two simultaneous New York City and Los Angeles ceremonies on Jan. 21.

As the Artios Awards honor the finest work in casting and—per the Greek translation of “Artios”—finding the “perfectly fitted” ensemble, the CSA casts a wider net than many other awards ceremonies in determining its 34 feature film nominees. Included on their list are, what are at this point, awards season regulars like “The Big Short,” “Bridge of Spies,” and “Spotlight,” alongside surprising, mixed bag picks like “Tomorrowland,” “Sleeping With Other People,” and record-breaking blockbuster “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

Also to be honored on Jan. 21 are Acadmey Award–winning director Danny Boyle, writing duo Michelle and Robert King (“The Good Wife”), and Emmy-nominated casting director Bernard Telsey, the last of whom also received four Artios Award nominations this year for his work on feature films “The Intern” and “Ricki and the Flash,” and theater productions “Diner” and “Finding Neverland.”

Check out CSA’s full list of the 2016 Artios Awards feature film nominees below. For more information on the Artios Awards, visit castingsociety.com.

Big Budget (Comedy)

“The Big Short” — Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

“The Intern” — Bernard Telsey, Laray Mayfield, Tiffany Little Canfield, David Vaccari (Associate)

“Joy” — Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)

“Sisters” — Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)

“Tomorrowland” — April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting)

Big Budget (Drama)

“Bridge of Spies” — Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)

“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Ronna Kress, Nikki Barrett

“Spotlight” — Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, John Buchan (Location Casting), Jason Knight (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg,Jessica Sherman (Associate)

“Straight Outta Compton” — Cindy Tolan, Victoria Thomas, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Beth Sepko (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Lucinda Syson (Location Casting), Pat Moran (Location Casting)

Studio or Independent (Comedy)

“Infinitely Polar Bear” — Douglas Aibel, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

“Me & Earl and the Dying Girl” — Angela Demo, Nancy Mosser (Location Casting), Katie Shenot (Location Casting)

“Ricki and the Flash” — Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, Conrad Woolfe (Associate)

“Sleeping With Other People” — Jennifer Euston, Emer O’Callaghan

“While We’re Young” — Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Studio or Independent (Drama)

“Brooklyn” — Fiona Weir, Lucie Robitaille (Location Casting), Jim Carnahan (Location Casting)

“Carol” — Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox (Associate), Jodi Angstreich (Associate)

“The Danish Girl” — Nina Gold

“Room” — Fiona Weir, Robin D. Cook, Jonathan Oliveira (Associate)

“Trumbo” — David Rubin, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Pryor (Associate)

Low Budget (Comedy)

“Big Stone Gap” — Henry Russell Bergstein, Stephanie Holbrook, Erica Arvold, Anne Chapman

“Dope” — Kim Coleman

“Grandma” — Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein

“The Mend” — Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Allison Estrin

“Mistress America” — Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Low Budget (Drama)

“It Follows” — Mark Bennett

“James White” — Susan Shopmaker

“Meadowland” — Richard Hicks

“Sisterhood of Night” — Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Jodi Angstreich

“The Stanford Prison Experiment” — Angela Demo


“The Good Dinosaur” — Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

“Inside Out” — Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

“Legend of the Neverbeast” — Jason Henkel

“Pixies” — Brad Gilmore

Inspired by this post? Check out our audition listings!

Author Headshot
Benjamin Lindsay
Benjamin Lindsay is managing editor at Backstage, where if you’re reading it in our magazine, he’s written or edited it first. He’s also producer and host of a number of our digital interview series, including our inaugural on-camera segment, Backstage Live.
See full bio and articles here!