Stritch, Gaynor Among Bistro Honorees

Article Image
Photo Source: Larry Busacca
The more than 20 cabaret stars who will be honored this spring at the 25th annual Bistro Awards were announced March 9.

The gala ceremony, which takes place April 13 at Gotham Comedy Club in New York, recognizes actors, musicians, and other performers who have made significant contributions to the cabaret community. (Back Stage is a media sponsor of the event.)

Among this year's honorees are Elaine Stritch, who will receive the award for extraordinary cabaret artist, and Mitzi Gaynor, who will be presented with the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award.

As part of the Bistro Awards' silver-anniversary celebration, Tovah Feldshuh, Paul Trueblood, and Ronny Whyte will be honored for their 25-plus years of contributions to the cabaret world.

The other winners and their categories are: Anne Steele, vocalist; Nicole Henry, jazz vocalist; Danielle Grabianowski, Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award; Loli Marquez-Sterling, entertainer; Lee Summers, entertainer; Liz Callaway, major engagement; Gretchen Reinhagen, tribute show; Sarah Rice, theme show; Michael Feinstein, Cheyenne Jackson, Christine Ebersole, and David Hyde Pierce, the ASCAP Great American Songbook Award for duo shows; "Celebrity Autobiography," comedy series; "I've Got a Little Twist," special award; "The Concerts at Tudor City Greens," special award; Peter Napolitano, BMI Award for director; "The Salon," special award; Alan Cumming, recording; Julie Reyburn, recording; Brett Kristofferson, songwriter; and Richard Eisenberg, special material.