2012 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees Celebrated

Article Image

The 42nd Annual Theater Hall of Fame ceremony was held Jan. 28 at the Gershwin Theatre and was hosted by Tony and Emmy Award winner Tyne Daly. The 2012 inductees included actors Betty Buckley and Sam Waterston, directors Trevor Nunn and Michael Kahn, producer/director Andre Bishop, playwrights Paula Vogel and Christopher Durang, and costume designer Martin Pakledinaz, who was given the honor posthumously.

Among the presenters were Academy Award winner Ellen Burstyn, Tony winner Christine Baranski, playwright Jon Robin Baitz, playwright Sarah Ruhl, and costume designer Susan Hilferty.

The Theater Hall of Fame was founded in 1971 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, Gerard Oestreicher and L. Arnold Weissberger, and honors Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater. Over 250 members of the Theater Hall of Fame and American Theater Critics Association vote on the inductees. The ballot has 50 nominees over 10 categories, with the eight nominees who receive the most votes inducted.

Buckley has starred in numerous Broadway productions including “Sunset Boulevard,” “Carrie,” and “The Mystery of Edwin Drood.” She won a Tony Award for her role as Grizabella in “Cats.”

Waterson, while most widely known for his television role on “Law & Order,” has appeared in many Broadway shows. In 1994, he was nominated for a Tony Award for his performance in “Abe Lincoln in Illinois.”