10 UCLA Students Win Screenwriting Awards

The UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television has presented screenwriting awards to 10 students for works written in the 2005-06 Professional Program in Screenwriting, a graduate-level certificate program.

The five winners were Barbara Curry for "The Nominee"; Ryan Gilmore, "The Devil's Playground"; Boris Layupan, "Heaven's Mandate"; David Mango, "Black's Sonata"; and Peter D. Pham, "Derailed." Honorable mentions went to Adriana Cepeda Espinosa, "Sons of Illusion"; Shaun Kosta, "The Poser"; Susan Anders Manard, "Extra Innings"; Robert Tomoguchi, "Exhume"; and Russ Tyler, "Twoface."

Mango was also awarded the Nate Wilson Award given annually to the student "whose script best embodies a spirit of joie de vivre.


Copyright 2006 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More From Actors + Performers


Now Trending