Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


AFI Fest Announces Young Americans and New Auteurs Film Lineups

AFI Fest Announces Young Americans and New Auteurs Film Lineups
Photo Source: AFI Fest

The American Film Institute has announced the lineups for the Young Americans and New Auteurs sections at its upcoming AFI Fest. The 26th annual film festival will include new films from Joe Swanberg, Brandon Cronenberg, Antonio Campos, Rebecca Thomas, and more.

The Young Americans section, which features work by emerging U.S. filmmakers, includes 11 titles for 2012.

“This year we’ve expanded our Young Americans section to accommodate the many great American independent films submitted,” Lane Kneedler, associate director of programming at AFI Fest, said in a statement. “The section features exciting directors and filmmakers like the Zellner brothers and Joe Swanberg, who are returning to AFI FEST with new films. It’s been extraordinary to see the growth and evolution of this section over the past three years.”

In addition, nine films have been selected for the festival’s New Auteurs section, which highlights first- and second-time feature film directors from around the world.

“Our New Auteurs competition section is an opportunity for us to highlight some of the strongest filmmaking by first- and second-time directors this year,” Jacqueline Lyanga, director of AFI Fest, said in a statement. “These are films that have been garnering acclaim and winning awards at festivals all over the world and are now being showcased together for the first time. Last year this section included Michael Roskam’s Oscar-nominated ‘Bullhead’ and Julia Loktev’s ‘The Loneliest Planet.’ Every year, it’s exciting to see the talent that emerges from this showcase of new narrative feature filmmakers.”

Films in the Young Americans section are eligible for an Audience Award, and films in the New Auteurs section are eligible for a Grand Jury Award. Films in both categories were chosen after making an impact on the festival circuit this year.

The 2012 AFI Fest runs Nov. 1-8 in Hollywood. This year’s festival will open with the world premiere of “Hitchcock,” starring Anthony Hopkins as the master of suspense, and close with Steven Spielberg’s “Lincoln," starring Daniel Day-Lewis as the 16th president. The complete festival program will be announced Oct. 11.

The complete lists of films and filmmakers in the Young Americans and New Auteurs sections are below.

Young Americans
“All The Light In The Sky”: Joe Swanberg, writer-director
“Ape”: Joel Potrykus, writer-director
“Electrick Children”: Rebecca Thomas, writer-director
“The International Sign For Choking”: Zach Weintraub, writer-director
“Kid-Thing”: David Zellner, writer-director
“Only The Young”: Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mims, directors
“Pearblossom Highway”: Mike Ott, director; Ott and Atsuko Okatsuka, writers
“Somebody Up There Likes Me”: Robert Byington, writer-director
“Starlet”: Sean Baker, director; Baker and Chris Bergoch, writers
“Sun Don’t Shine”: Amy Seimetz, writer-director
“Tchoupitoulas”: Turner Ross and Bill Ross, directors

New Auteurs
“After Lucia”: Michel Franco, writer-director (Mexico)
“Antiviral”: Brandon Cronenberg, writer-director (Canada/USA)
“Clip”: Maja Miloš, writer-director (Serbia)
“Eat Sleep Die”: Gabriela Pichler, writer-director (Sweden)
“Here And There”: Antonio Mendez Esparza, writer-director (Mexico/Spain/USA)
“A Hijacking”: Tobiaas Lindholm, writer-director (Denmark)
“In The Fog”: Sergei Loznitsa, director (Germany/Russia/Belarus/The Netherlands/Latvia)
“Not In Tel Aviv”: Nony Geffen, writer-director (Israel)
“Simon Killer”: Antonio Campos, writer-director (USA)

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: