Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Albee to Announce Winner of First Yale Award

Edward Albee will announce the winner of the inaugural Yale Drama Series competition for playwrights on April 26 at Lincoln Center.

The $10,000 David C. Horn Award, which comes with publication and a staged reading at Yale Rep, will be chosen from more than 500 applicants, who submitted a full-length, unpublished, and unproduced play.

The Yale Drama Series advisory board includes Harold Bloom, Robert Brustein, James Bundy, Alfred Goldfield, Annie Keefe, and Joanne Woodward. Albee is the first judge of the series and his term will run for two years. Future judges will include noted playwrights and directors.

The ceremony will be held at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse at Lincoln Center. The award is funded by the David Charles Horn Foundation, which was established in 2003 by Fracine Horn to commemorate her late husband. Horn was publisher and CEO of Here & There, a trade publication for the fashion industry.

— Andrew Salomon

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: