Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


The (Artios Awards) Show Must Go On

The (Artios Awards) Show Must Go On

Because of Hurricane Sandy, what was meant to be a bi-coastal event became a West Coast evening, when all of the winners of the 28th Annual Artios Awards were announced Oct. 29 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Presenters included Atticus Shaffer, Nat Faxon, Anna Kendrick, Armie Hammer, Cedric the Entertainer, and Jean Smart. Jeremy Renner and Michael Hoffman presented the Career Achievement and Hoyt Bowers Awards.

The evening began with a video introduction to each of the nominees, finally putting faces to the names of notoriously camera-shy casting directors. CSA President Pam Dixon kicked off the ceremony, noting the CSA would continue to work towards adding casting awards to the Academy, Tony, and BAFTA ceremonies, and the plans to launch a new CSA website. After announcing this will be her final year as CSA President and thanking all her colleagues, she presented Gary Marsh with the first CSA Award of Recognition.

Host Nicole Sullivan started off with some guidelines for the winners: “If you’re accepting an award tonight and your thank you speech is four pages, we’re actually only going to be hearing pages one and three even though you learned it all.”

Mindy Marin gave a heartfelt thank you to actors in her acceptance speech. “I also really want to thank the actor who gets up every single morning, whose heart palpitates, who has read scripts, looked at their sides, wondered how they’d do, left their families, driven across town, paid for parking, come in,” she said. “I want to thank the actors on planet Earth for giving so much of their time and their hearts and their souls. I’m very grateful because every time you walk in the room, I have a job and I’m so happy to see you.”

Michael Hoffman presented Lora Kennedy with the Hoyt Bowers Award, saying that Lora advocates for the most talented actor in a given role. Accepting the award, Kennedy spoke to the importance of the casting director’s role: “We don’t cut anything; we don’t build anything; we don’t write anything, but we weave. We weave people together. We weave these moments of inspiration together. That is our job and it is a skill to look beyond what is in front of us to see all the possibilities.”

There was a tie for TV Series Drama casting between Judy Henderson (“Homeland”) and Mark Saks (“The Good Wife”). “I shouldn’t have voted for ‘Homeland,’” joked Saks. Libby Goldstein’s hilarious poem about losing Ben Affleck as director on “Homeland” was among the highlights of the evening. Jeremy Renner later presented Affleck with the Career Achievement Award. “I had a goal to get in the room with every casting director in L.A. so I have a quick monologue I’m going to do, one classic, one contemporary,” joked Affleck. Following Affleck, Jean Smart said that she always felt casting directors really liked actors before listing the New York winners, including multiple award winners Jennifer Euston and James Calleri. Cedric the Entertainer wrapped up the ceremony with a few jokes.

The complete list of winners for the 2012 Artios Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Casting is below.

Big Budget Feature – Drama
“The Help,” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee*

Big Budget Feature – Comedy
“Crazy, Stupid, Love,” Mindy Marin, Kara Lipson (Associate)

Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama
“My Week With Marilyn,” Deborah Aquila, Tricia Wood, Nina Gold (Location Casting)

Feature – Studio or Independent – Comedy
“The Artist,” Heidi Levitt, Michael Sanford (Associate)

Low Budget Feature – Comedy or Drama
“Martha Marcy May Marlene,” Susan Shopmaker*

Animation Feature
“Happy Feet Two,” Kristy Carlson

Daytime Drama Series
“The Young and the Restless,” Judy Blye Wilson

Television Pilot Drama
“Homeland,” Junie Lowry Johnson, Libby Goldstein, Julie Tucker, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Craig Fincannon (Location Casting)

Television Pilot Comedy
“Girls,” Jennifer Euston

Television Series Drama TIE
“The Good Wife,” Mark Saks, John Andrews (Associate)
“Homeland,” Judy Henderson, Craig Fincannon (Location Casting), Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting)

Television Series Comedy
“Girls,” Jennifer Euston

Television Movie or Mini Series
“Game Change,” David Rubin, Richard Hicks, Pat Moran (Location Casting), Kathleen Chopin (Location Casting), Anne Davison (Associate)

Children’s Series
“Wizards of Waverly Place,” Ruth Lambert, Robert McGee

Television Animation
“Family Guy,” Linda Lamontagne

New York Broadway Theatre – Drama
“Death of a Salesman,” Mele Nagler

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy
“Venus in Fur,” Nancy Piccione, James Calleri

New York Broadway Theatre – Musical
“Once,” Jim Carnahan*

New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical
“The Cherry Orchard,” James Calleri

New York Theatre – Drama
“Tribes,” Pat McCorkle

Regional Theatre East
“A Doll’s House,” James Calleri

Regional Theatre West
“Hands On A Hardbody,” Rachel Hoffman

Los Angeles Theatre
“Art,” Jeff Greenberg

* Shared credit with non-CSA casting director(s)

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: