Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


ATW Design Award Winners

The American Theatre Wing has honored its 1998 winners of the Design Awards, selected for Outstanding Artistry in 41 productions over the 1997-98 New York theatre season. There were 53 nominations. Unlike the Tonys, these annual awards‹in existence for 34 years‹recognize designers from Off-Broadway and Off Off-Broadway as well as Broadway, for designs originating in the U.S.

The winners are: Eugene Lee ("Ragtime") for scenic design; Julie Taymor ("The Lion King") for costume design; Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer ("Ragtime" and "Street Corner Symphony") and Donald Holder ("The Lion King") for lighting design; and Julie Taymor and Michael Curry ("The Lion King") for noteworthy unusual effects.

Ming Cho Lee received a special award to recognize his assistance to young scenic, costume, and lighting designers with his annual "Clambake"‹the Stage Design Portfolio Review.

Winners received honoraria and citations at the American Theatre Wing's Design Seminar on Thurs., Oct. 22 at the City University of New York Graduate Center. The seminar/presentation was chaired by critic Tish Dace and lighting designer Beverly Emmons.

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: