Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Bayfield, Callaway Awards

Dakin Matthews, who plays dual roles in "Henry IV" at Lincoln Center's Vivian Beaumont Theater, has been tapped to receive the annual St. Clair Bayfield Award, recognizing the best performance by an actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York area. Matthews plays both Chief Justice Warwick and Owen Glendower. In addition to being an actor, Matthews wrote the current adaptation of "Henry IV," which combines Part I and Part II.

The award is administered by the Actors' Equity Foundation, and was established in memory of actor St. Clair Bayfield.

The union has also announced the winners of its annual Joe A. Callaway Awards, which honor the best performances in a production of a classic play. The recipients this year are Earl Hindman, Kathryn Meisle, and Carol Schultz for their work in, respectively, "Julius Caesar" (Theatre for a New Audience), "Tartuffe" (Roundabout Theatre Company), and "The Rivals" (Pearl Theatre Company).

Judges included reviewers Charles Isherwood (Variety), Michael Kuchwara (Associated Press), Douglas Watt (The Daily News), and David Rosenberg (Back Stage).

All the awards will be presented at the Eastern regional membership meeting of Actors' Equity Association (165 West 46th St.) on Fri., Jan 9. at 1 pm.

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: