Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


‘Gravity’ and ‘12 Years a Slave’ Take BAFTAs

‘Gravity’ and ‘12 Years a Slave’ Take BAFTAs
Photo Source: BAFTA

“Gravity,” Alfonso Cuarón’s thriller about a space disaster, dominated the BAFTA awards Feb. 16 with six wins out of 11 nominations, including trophies for Cuarón and outstanding British film. That latter honor raised a few eyebrows considering the American cast, Mexican director, and starry setting.

But the top honor of the night went to “12 Years a Slave,” the harrowing story of a free man forced into slavery. "There are 21 million people in slavery now as we sit here,” said director Steve McQueen while accepting the award for best film. “I just hope that 150 years from now our ambivalence will not allow another filmmaker to make this film.”

Beating out Bruce Dern (“Nebraska”), Christian Bale (“American Hustle”), Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Wolf of Wall Street”) and Tom Hanks (“Captain Phillips”) for best actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, the lead in “12 Years a Slave,” thanked McQueen for “your work, artistry and passion in this project.”

“This is yours,” he said, addressing the London-based director. “I know that…you know that. I'm going to keep it—that's the kind of guy I am—but it's yours.” It’ll be a surprise if Ejiofor doesn’t nab another win for McQueen at the upcoming Oscars, the awards for which BAFTA has been a notoriously accurate predictor.

“American Hustle” walked away with three statues for original screenplay, make-up and hair, and best supporting actress, which had Jennifer Lawrence beating out awards season regulars Lupita Nyong'o, Oprah Winfrey, English actor Sally Hawkins, and Julia Roberts.

Best actress went to Cate Blanchett for her role in Woody Allen’s “Blue Jasmine.” She dedicated her win to the late Philip Seymour Hoffman. “You raised the bar and all we can do in your absence is to continue raising it.” She added: “Phil, buddy, this is for you, you bastard, I hope you’re proud.”

Some of the evening's loudest applause went to the up-and-coming Barkhad Abdi, who nailed his performance and held his own as a Somali pirate in “Captain Phillips,” opposite mega-star Tom Hanks. Up against some stiff competition that included Michael Fassbender, Matt Damon, Bradley Cooper, and Daniel Brühl (“Rush”), the actor won in the best supporting actor category and thanked Hanks and director Paul Greengrass “for believing in me before I believed in myself.”

Here's the full list of nominees and winners

Best Film
"12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
"American Hustle"
"Captain Phillips"

Outstanding British Film
"Gravity" - WINNER
"Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom"
"Saving Mr. Banks"
"The Selfish Giant"

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Kieran Evans (Director/Writer) - "Kelly + Victor" - WINNER
Colin Carberry (Writer), Glenn Patterson (Writer) - "Good Vibrations"
Kelly Marcel (Writer) - "Saving Mr. Banks"
Paul Wright (Director/Writer), Polly Stokes (Producer) - "For Those in Peril"
Scott Graham (Director/Writer) - "Shell"

Film Not in the English Language
"The Great Beauty" - WINNER
"The Act of Killing"
"Blue Is The Warmest Color"
"Metro Manila"

"The Act of Killing" - WINNER
"The Armstrong Lie"
"Tim's Vermeer"
"We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks"

Animated Film
"Frozen" - WINNER
"Despicable Me 2"
"Monsters University"

Alfonso Cuarón - "Gravity" - WINNER
Steve McQueen - "12 Years a Slave"
David O. Russell - "American Hustle"
Paul Greengrass - "Captain Phillips"
Martin Scorsese - "The Wolf of Wall Street"

Original Screenplay
Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell - "American Hustle" - WINNER
Woody Allen - "Blue Jasmine"
Alfonso Cuarón, Jonas Cuaron - "Gravity"
Joel Coen, Ethan Coen - "Inside Llewyn Davis"
Bob Nelson - "Nebraska"

Adapted Screenplay
Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope - "Philomena" - WINNER
John Ridley - "12 Years a Slave"
Richard LaGravenese - "Behind The Candelabra"
Billy Ray - "Captain Phillips"
Terence Winter - "The Wolf of Wall Street"

Leading Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor - "12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
Bruce Dern - "Nebraska"
Christian Bale - "American Hustle"
Leonardo DiCaprio - "The Wolf of Wall Street"
Tom Hanks - Captain Phillips"

Leading Actress
Cate Blanchett - "Blue Jasmine" - WINNER
Amy Adams - "American Hustle"
Emma Thompson - "Saving Mr. Banks"
Judi Dench - "Philomena"
Sandra Bullock - "Gravity"

Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi - "Captain Phillips" - WINNER
Bradley Cooper - "American Hustle"
Daniel Bruhl - "Rush"
Matt Damon - "Behind The Candelabra"
Michael Fassbender - "12 Years a Slave"

Supporting Actress
Jennifer Lawrence - "American Hustle" - WINNER
Julia Roberts - "August: Osage County"
Lupita Nyong'o - "12 Years a Slave"
Oprah Winfrey - "The Butler"
Sally Hawkins - "Blue Jasmine"

Original Music
"Gravity" - Steven Price - WINNER
"12 Years a Slave" - Hans Zimmer
"The Book Thief" - John Williams
"Captain Phillips" - Henry Jackman
"Saving Mr. Banks" - Thomas Newman

"Gravity" - Emmanuel Lubezki - WINNER
"12 Years a Slave" - Sean Bobbitt
"Captain Phillips" - Barry Ackroyd
"Inside Llewyn Davis" - Bruno Delbonnel
"Nebraska" - Phedon Papamichael

"Rush" - Dan Hanley, Mike Hill - WINNER
"12 Years a Slave" - Joe Walker
"Captain Phillips" - Christopher Rouse
"Gravity" - Alfonso Cuaron, Mark Sanger
"The Wolf of Wall Street" - Thelma Schoonmaker

Production Design
"The Great Gatsby" - Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn - WINNER
"12 years a Slave" - Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker
"American Hustle" - Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler
"Behind The Candelabra" - Howard Cummings
"Gravity" - Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard

Costume Design
"The Great Gatsby" - Catherine Martin - WINNER
"American Hustle" - Michael Wilkinson
"Behind The Candelabra" - Ellen Mirojnick
"The Invisible Woman" - Michael O'Connor
"Saving Mr. Banks" - Daniel Orlandi

Make Up & Hair
"American Hustle" - Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell - WINNER
"Behind The Candelabra" - Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin
"The Butler" - Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor, Candace Neal
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" - Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater

"Gravity" - Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri, Chris Munro - WINNER
"All Is Lot" - Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg, Gillian Arthur
"Captain Phillips" - Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro, Oliver Tarney
"Inside Llewyn Davis" - Peter F. Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff
"Rush" - Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler, Frank Kruse

Special Visual Effects
"Gravity" - Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould, Nikki Penny - WINNER
"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" - Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds
"Iron Man 3" - Bryan Grill, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick
"Pacific Rim" - Hal Hickel, John Knoll, Lindy De Quattro, Nigel Sumner 
"Star Trek Into Darkness" - Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton, Patrick Tubach, Roger Guyett

British Short Animation
"Sleeping With The Fishes" - James Walker, Sarah Woolner, Yousif Al-Khalifa - WINNER
"Everything I Can See From Here" - Bjorn-Erik Aschim, Friederike Nicolaus, Sam Taylor
"I Am Tom Moody" - Ainslie Henderson

British Short Film
"Room 8" - James W. Griffiths, Sophie Venner "Sea View" -- Anna Duffield, Jane Linfoot - WINNER
"Island Queen" - Ben Mallaby, Nat Luurtsema
"Keeping Up With The Joneses" - Megan Rubens, Michael Pearce, Selina Lim
"Orbit Ever After" - Chee-Lan Chan, Jamie Stone, Len Rowles
"Sea View" - Anna Duffield, Jane Linfoot

The EE Rising Star Award (voted by the public)
Will Poulter - WINNER
Dane Dehaan
George Mackay
Lupita Nyong'o
Lea Seydoux

Oustanding British Contribution To Cinema 2014
Peter Greenaway

Fellowship Award 2014
Dame Helen Mirren

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: