Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


"Hairspray" Spritzes Drama Desk Nominations with 14 Noms

The hit musical "Hairspray" topped the list for the 48th annual Drama Desk Awards with 14 nominations. In a surprise, the short-lived tuner "Amour" was next on the list with nine. Among plays, Richard Greenberg's "Take Me Out," the comedy-drama about a gay baseball player, hit a home run for eight nominations. Sisters Lynn and Vanessa Redgrave will compete in different categories. Vanessa is up for Leading Actress in a Play for "Long Day's Journey Into Night" which is still in previews, and Lynn is in the running for Featured Actress in a Play for the Off-Broadway monologue show "Talking Heads."

Unlike the Tonys, the Drama Desk covers on and Off-Broadway equally in all of its multiple categories. The awards, which are voted on by over 120 theatre reviewers, editors, and reporters, will be presented on Sunday, May 18.

A complete list of the nominees follows:

Final List Drama Desk Nominees for 2002-03

Outstanding Play:

Buicks (Julian Sheppard)

Our Lady of 121st Street (Stephen Adly Guirgis)

Peter and Vandy (Jay DiPietro)

Take Me Out (Richard Greenberg)

Talking Heads (Alan Bennett)

Yellowman (Dael Orlandersmith)

Outstanding Musical:


Avenue Q


A Man of No Importance

Movin' Out

Zanna, Don't!

Outstanding Revival of a Play:

A Day in the Death of Joe Egg

Dinner at Eight

Long Day's Journey Into Night


Twelfth Night (Donmar Warehouse/BAM)

Uncle Vanya (Donmar Warehouse/BAM)

Outstanding Revival of a Musical:


La Boheme

Man of La Mancha


Outstanding Actor in a Play:

Simon Russell Beale (Uncle Vanya)

Norbert Leo Butz (Buicks)

Jim Dale (Comedians)

Brian Dennehy (Long Day's Journey Into Night)

Eddie Izzard (A Day in the Death of Joe Egg)

Daniel Sunjata (Take Me Out)

Outstanding Actress in a Play:

Jayne Atkinson (Enchanted April)

Marylouise Burke (Kimberly Akimbo)

Clare Higgins (Vincent in Brixton)

Dael Orlandersmith (Yellowman)

Vanessa Redgrave (Long Day's Journey Into Night)

Fiona Shaw (Medea)

Outstanding Actor in a Musical:

Antonio Banderas (Nine)

Harvey Fierstein (Hairspray)

Malcolm Gets (Amour)

Brian Stokes Mitchell (Man of La Mancha)

Jason Petty (Hank Williams: Lost Highway)

John Selya (Movin' Out)

Outstanding Actress in a Musical:

Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Avenue Q)

Ann Duquesnay (Cookin' at the Cookery)

Wei Huang (La Boheme)

Elizabeth Parkinson (Movin' Out)

Bernadette Peters (Gypsy)

Marissa Jaret Winokur (Hairspray)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:

Simon Russell Beale (Twelfth Night)

Walter Bobbie (Polish Joke)

Philip Seymour Hoffman (Long Day's Journey Into Night)

T.R. Knight (Scattergood)

Denis O'Hare (Take Me Out)

Frederick Weller (Take Me Out)

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:

Christine Ebersole (Talking Heads)

Jan Maxwell (My Old Lady)

Helen McCrory (Uncle Vanya)

Nancy Opel (Polish Joke)

Lynn Redgrave (Talking Heads)

Jeanine Serralles (Hold Please)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical:

John Dossett (Gypsy)

Christopher Fitzgerald (Amour)

Charles Keating (A Man of No Importance)

Dick Latessa (Hairspray)

Steven Pasquale (A Man of No Importance)

Corey Reynolds (Hairspray)

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical:

Kerry Butler (Hairspray)

Jane Krakowski (Nine)

Mary Stuart Masterson (Nine)

Sally Mayes (Urban Cowboy)

Chita Rivera (Nine)

Debra Walton (Cookin' at the Cookery)

Outstanding Director of a Play:

Robert Falls (Long Day's Journey Into Night)

Philip Seymour Hoffman (Our Lady of 121st Street)

Joe Mantello (Take Me Out)

Sam Mendes (Twelfth Night)

Sam Mendes (Uncle Vanya)

Deborah Warner (Medea)

Outstanding Director of a Musical:

James Lapine (Amour)

David Leveaux (Nine)

Baz Luhrmann (La Boheme)

Joe Mantello (A Man of No Importance)

Jack O'Brien (Hairspray)

Twyla Tharp (Movin' Out)

Outstanding Choreography:

Jerry Mitchell (Hairspray)

Ken Roberson (Harlem Song)

Twyla Tharp (Movin' Out)

Tommy Tune (Tommy Tune: White Tie and Tails)

Outstanding Music:

Tim Acito (Zanna, Don't!)

Stephen Flaherty (A Man of No Importance)

Michel Legrand (Amour)

Robert Lopez, Jeff Marx (Avenue Q)

Keb' Mo', Anderson Edwards, Keith Glover (Thunder Knocking on the Door)

Marc Shaiman (Hairspray)

Outstanding Lyrics:

Tim Acito, Alexander Dinelaris (Zanna, Don't!)

Lynn Ahrens (A Man of No Importance)

Craig Carnelia (Imaginary Friends)

Robert Lopez, Jeff Marx (Avenue Q)

Jeremy Sams, Didier van Cauwelaert (Amour)

Scott Wittman, Marc Shaiman (Hairspray)

Outstanding Book of a Musical:

Tim Acito, Alexander Dinelaris (Zanna, Don't!)

Terrence McNally (A Man of No Importance)

Mark O'Donnell, Thomas Meehan (Hairspray)

Jeremy Sams, Didier van Cauwelaert (Amour)

Jeff Whitty (Avenue Q)

Outstanding Orchestrations:

Luther Henderson (Little Ham)

Michel Legrand (Amour)

Harold Wheeler (Hairspray)

Outstanding Set Design of a Play:

John Lee Beatty (Dinner at Eight)

John Lee Beatty (My Old Lady)

Troy Hourie (Temporary Help)

Scott Pask (Take Me Out)

Neil Patel (Endpapers)

B.T. Whitehall (Shanghai Moon)

Outstanding Set Design of a Musical:

Riccardo Hernandez, Batwin + Robin Productions (Radiant Baby)

Catherine Martin (La Boheme)

Scott Pask (Amour)

Stephane Roy (Cirque du Soleil: Varekai)

David Rockwell (Hairspray)

Outstanding Costume Design:

Michael Bottari, Ronald Case (Shanghai Moon)

Jess Goldstein (Enchanted April)

Eiko Ishioka (Cirque du Soleil: Varekai)

William Ivey Long (Hairspray)

Catherine Martin, Angus Strathie (La Boheme)

Catherine Zuber (Dinner at Eight)

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Kevin Adams (Take Me Out)

Russell H. Champa (Yellowman)

Donald Holder (Movin' Out)

Donald Holder (Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Toward the Somme)

Nigel Levings (La Boheme)

Peter Mumford (Vincent in Brixton)

Outstanding Sound Design:

Acme Sound Partners (La Boheme)

Mark Bennett (Golda's Balcony)

Mark Bennett (Julius Caesar)

Francois Bergeron (Cirque du Soleil: Varekai)

Janet Kalas (Take Me Out)

David Meschter, Mel Mercier (Medea)

Outstanding Solo Performance:

Barbara Cook (Mostly Sondheim)

Tovah Feldshuh (Golda's Balcony)

Frank Gorshin (Say Goodnight, Gracie)

Ricky Jay (Ricky Jay: On the Stem)

Priscilla Lopez (Class Mothers '68)

Charlayne Woodard (In Real Life)

Unique Theatrical Experience:

Cirque du Soleil: Varekai

The Exonerated

The Play What I Wrote

Russell Simmons Def Poetry Jam on Broadway

Special Awards:

Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) for bringing works of distinction from around the world to New York audiences

Charles Busch for career achievement as performer and playwright

Geoffrey Johnson and Vincent Liff (posthumous) of Johnson-Liff Casting for career achievement

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: