Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced

Lucille Lortel Award Winners Announced
Photo Source: Joan Marcus
The 2011 Lucille Lortel Awards, which recognize excellence in Off-Broadway theater, were presented on Sunday. Samantha Bee, a correspondent for "The Daily Show With Jon Stewart," and Zach Braff, star of the 2010 Off-Broadway play "Trust," hosted the ceremony at New York University's Skirball Center.

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers created the Lortel Awards in 1985. Proceeds from this year's ceremony benefit the Actors Fund, a service organization for entertainment industry professionals.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Outstanding Play
"The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity" by Kristoffer Diaz, produced by Second Stage Theatre

Outstanding Musical
"Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson," music and lyrics by Michael Friedman, book by Alex Timbers, produced by the Public Theater and Center Theatre Group in association with Les Freres Corbusier

Outstanding Solo Show
"Mike Birbiglia's My Girlfriend's Boyfriend," written and performed by Mike Birbiglia, produced by Ron Delsener, Michael Berkowitz, Mike Lavoie, and Joe Birbiglia

Outstanding Revival
"Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes" by Tony Kushner, produced by Signature Theatre Company

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience
"Gatz," produced by Elevator Repair Service, presented by the Public Theater

Ron Rifkin at the Lucille Lortel Awards. (Photo by David Sheward.)

Outstanding Director
John Collins, "Gatz"

Outstanding Choreographer
Steven Hoggett, "Peter and the Starcatcher"

Outstanding Lead Actor
Christian Borle, "Peter and the Starcatcher"

Outstanding Lead Actress
Laurie Metcalf, "The Other Place"

Outstanding Featured Actor
Thomas Sadoski, "Other Desert Cities"

Outstanding Featured Actress
Kristen Schaal, "The Coward"

Outstanding Scenic Design
Donyale Werle, "Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson"

Outstanding Costume Design
Gabriel Berry, "The Coward"

Outstanding Lighting Design
Ben Stanton, "The Whipping Man"

Outstanding Sound Design
Mikhail Fiksel, "The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity"

Special Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award: Lynne Meadow

Service to Off-Broadway Award: Gary Glaser

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: