Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Newcomers Honored by Theater World Awards

Newcomers Honored by Theater World Awards
Photo Source: Getty Images
The three young boys alternating the role of Billy Elliot and an Oscar winner (Geoffrey Rush of Exit the King) are among those chosen for the 65th annual Theatre World awards. Presented to performers making their Broadway or Off-Broadway debut, the awards were announced May 11 and will be handed out on June 2 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre. A special award will be presented to the cast of The Norman Conquests, which has already been honored with similar citations from the Outer Critics Circle, the Drama Desk, and the New York Drama Critics Circle. The winners were chosen by a committee composed of theater critics and reporters including David Cote (Time Out), Peter Filichia (The Star Ledger and TheaterMania), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Doug Watt (critic emeritus, New York Daily News), and Linda Winer (Newsday). A list of 2008-09 Theatre World Award winners follows:David Alvarez, Trent Kowalik, Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot, The MusicalChad L. Coleman, Joe Turner's Come and GoneJennifer Grace, Our TownJosh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The MusicalHaydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot, The MusicalColin Hanks, 33 VariationsMarin Ireland, reasons to be prettySusan Louise O'Connor, Blithe SpiritCondola Rashad, RuinedGeoffrey Rush, Exit the KingJosefina Scaglione, West Side StoryWesley Taylor, Rock of AgesSpecial Award: To the entire cast of The Norman ConquestsAmelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter, and Amanda Root

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: