Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Robert Whitehead Honored

Legendary producer Robert Whitehead and his late friend Harold Clurman, co-founder of the Group Theater, were honored on Mon., May 13.

The festive event, "A Remarkable Theatrical Friendship—Robert Whitehead and Harold Clurman," took place at the Stella Adler Studio of Acting (31 W. 27th St.), at which time two new adjoining studios were named after the theatrical figures.

Whitehead and Clurman joined forces in 1949 to produce Carson McCullers' "The Member of the Wedding." Among their other collaborations: William Inge's "Bus Stop" (with Kim Stanley and Elaine Stritch), Tennessee William's "Orpheus Descending," (with Maureen Stapleton and Cliff Robertson), Jean Anhouilh's "The Waltz of the Toreadors" (with Ralph Richardson and Mildred Natwick), Eugene O'Neill's "A Touch of the Poet," and Arthur Miller's "Incident at Vichy," (with Joseph Wiseman).

Among those who joined in the ceremony were Zoe Caldwell (Whitehead's wife), Roy Scheider, Eli Wallach, Anne Jackson, Joseph Wiseman, David Margulies, Ming Cho Lee, and Ellen Adler.

Five NY Theatres tapped for Kesselring Awards

Five New York theatres, included among 15 theatres nationwide, have been tapped as nominators for the 2002 Kesselring Prize for playwriting. Each year, the New York-based National Arts Club, which awards the $10,000 top prize and $2,500 honorable mention, chooses fifteen theatres to nominate fifteen deserving playwrights who are not as yet fully established or nationally recognized.

The five New York-based theatres that will serve as nominators are: the Roundabout Theatre Company, Women's Project and Productions, the Atlantic Theatre, Playwrights Horizons, and the Drama Department.

When the playwright nominees are announced in early June, they will submit one play, which is then read and evaluated by the National Arts Club. In September, the club announces its winner and honorable mention. The prize, named after "Arsenic and Old Lace" playwright Joseph Kesselring, is awarded in November.

Last year's winner was David Lindsay-Abaire ("Kimberly Akimbo"), with 2002 Pulitzer Prize finalist Dael Orlandersmith as the honorable mention.

Past winners have included David Auburn, Nicky Silver, Tony Kushner, Anna Deavere Smith, Jose Rivera, and Marion McClinton.

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: