Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


SAG Names 2011 Howard Keel Award Honorees

The Screen Actors Guild announced today the recipients of the third annual Howard Keel Award: actors Will Lyman of the Boston branch and Dan Fitzgerald of the Florida branch.

A SAG member since 1973, Lyman has enjoyed a long career in theater, television, and film, including appearances in "The Siege" and "Mystic River." He also serves as the voice of PBS's "Frontline," a long-running public affairs program. Lyman has chaired many branch committees on wages and working conditions and was active during the 2000 commercials strike.

After serving in the Korean War, Fitzgerald joined SAG in 1957. Also a member of the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, he has maintained a career in commercials, television, and film while being active in the SAG Foundation and community service. He has served on and chaired many local and national committees. Among other leadership positions, Fitzgerald served three terms on SAG's national board of directors and three terms as Florida branch president, from 1994 to 2000. He was honored in 2001 with the Bruce McLaughlin Award for bringing BookPALS, a SAG Foundation program that supports literacy, to Florida.

The Howard Keel Award, named after the 1958-59 SAG president and renowned actor-singer, is given to individuals who make important contributions to the promotion of SAG and to the welfare and benefit of fellow members.

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: