Subscribe now to and start applying to auditions!


Twelve Plays Reach Blackburn Finals

Twelve Plays Reach Blackburn Finals

Twelve plays have reached the finals phase for the 26th annual Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, given out annually to women for having written outstanding works for the English-speaking theatre.

The finalists are: Neena Beber (U.S.) for Jump/Cut; Jean Betts (New Zealand) for The Collective; Lin Coghlan (U.K.) for Mercy; Zinnie Harris (U.K.) for Midwinter; Carson Kreitzer (U.S.) for The Love Song of J. Robert Oppenheimer; Lisa Loomer (U.S.) for Living Out; Abi Morgan (U.K.) for 27; Ann Noble (U.S.) for Ariadne's Thread; Lucy Prebble (U.K.) for The Sugar Syndrome; Sarah Ruhl (U.S.) for The Clean House; Polly Teale (U.K.) for After Mrs. Rochester; and Karen Zacarias (U.S.) for Mariela in the Desert.

The winner of this year's prize will be presented in February in either New York or London and will receive $10,000 as well as a specially created, signed, and numbered print by artist Willem de Kooning. All finalists for the prize will receive $500.

What did you think of this story?
Leave a Facebook Comment: