39th College Television Awards Honor Pioneering Student Filmmakers

Article Image
Photo Source: Phil McCarten/Invision/AP Images

Likely future Emmy winners were celebrated March 17 at the 39th College Television Awards, presented by the Television Academy Foundation at the Saban Media Center in Los Angeles. Rewarding the superlative work produced for the small screen entirely by students, the CTAs are voted upon by Television Academy members. Among the 2019 ceremony’s presenters were Jaime Camil, Ryan Guzman, Kelly McCreary, and Mishel Prada.

Winning teams in eight categories—animation series, comedy series, commercial, drama series, news, nonfiction or reality, sports, and variety—earned a $3,000 cash prize, while all CTA nominees and winners will join the Television Academy Foundation’s alumni network, having the opportunity to participate in year-round programming. Over the weekend, all student nominees participated in panel discussions and networking events at the Nominee Summit.

“Television’s most prestigious student competition spotlights the next generation of content creators,” said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation, in a statement. “With the support of the Television Academy, our donors and sponsors, we are building a pipeline of talented individuals that are diverse, inclusive, and relevant to audiences. The Foundation is committed to providing students with opportunities to learn from and network with top industry executives to help guide them as they embark on their dream careers.”

Florida State University’s Chris Violette earned the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship for his eight-minute documentary “Woman of Steel.” “Montclair News Lab: Hurricane Recover Mission to Puerto Rico” earned the prestigious Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award. For more on the Television Academy Foundation and the winners of the College Television Awards, click here

Check out Backstage’s TV audition listings!