‘House of Gucci,’ ‘Power of the Dog,’ ‘Ted Lasso,’ ‘Succession’ Among 2022 SAG Award Nominees

Article Image
Photo Source: Courtesy United Artists Releasing


Hollywood’s biggest awards show celebrating actors and voted upon by actors has revealed its nominees, kicking a thrillingly competitive 2022 awards race into high gear. Nominations for the 28th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, announced by Vanessa Hudgens and Rosario Dawson via Instagram, spanned new and returning contenders from both big and small screens. 

The nominees for SAG-AFTRA’s top film award, the outstanding cast in a motion picture prize, are the ensembles of Focus Features’ “Belfast,” Warner Bros.’ “King Richard,” UAR’s “House of Gucci,” Apple TV+’s “CODA,” and Netflix’s “Don’t Look Up.” Netflix amassed the most nominations this year, totaling 17 across film and television SAG categories. 

Leading the film tally was “House of Gucci,” which also notched individual nominations for leading actress Lady Gaga and supporter Jared Leto, and Netflix’s “The Power of the Dog,” securing nods for Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst, and Kodi Smit-McPhee. Will Smith of “King Richard,” Caitríona Balfe of “Belfast,” and Troy Kotsur of “CODA” were also among the double nominees. 

Other actors competing in the SAG film categories include Nicole Kidman and Javier Bardem of Amazon’s “Being the Ricardos,” Jessica Chastain of Searchlight Pictures’ “The Eyes of Tammy Faye,” and Ruth Negga of Netflix’s “Passing.” Given the indefinite postponement of the 2022 Critics’ Choice Awards and the untelevised nature of this week’s Golden Globes, the SAG nominations list is this year’s best indicator yet of Oscar contenders to come. Performers make up the largest branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and roughly half of all SAG film ensemble cast winners have gone on to claim the Oscar for best picture. Results from last year’s virtual ceremony, like supporting film winners Daniel Kaluuya and Youn Yuh-jung, repeated victories at later ceremonies including the Oscars.

In the TV drama categories, HBO’s “Succession” notched individual nods for stars Sarah Snook, Brian Cox, Kieran Culkin, and Jeremy Strong. Despite dominating the lists of other awards voting bodies, the Jesse Armstrong series had never been recognized at the SAG Awards until now. Its cast is nominated for outstanding drama ensemble alongside Hulu’s “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Apple TV+’s “The Morning Show,” Paramount’s “Yellowstone, and Netflix’s Korean thriller “Squid Game,” the latter becoming the first non-English-language entry in the category’s history and earning additional nods for stars Jung Ho-yeon and Lee Jung-jae.

TV comedy contenders include several winners from the 2021 Emmy Awards. Last year’s male comedy actor SAG winner Jason Sudeikis, creator-star of Apple TV+’s Emmy-dominating “Ted Lasso,” is nominated alongside his co-star Brett Goldstein, plus Juno Temple and Hannah Waddingham. Joining that series in the outstanding comedy ensemble category are HBO Max’s “Hacks,” Hulu’s The Great,” Netflix’s “The Kominsky Method,” and Hulu’s “Only Murders in the Building.” 

Similarly, Emmy and recent Golden Globe winner Kate Winslet could extend her victory lap, recognized for HBO’s limited series “Mare of Easttown.” Among the SAG Awards’ 15 categories, limited series and TV movie contenders compete individually rather than in ensemble categories. Winslet is nominated along with co-star Jean Smart, Jennifer Coolidge of HBO’s “The White Lotus,” Cynthia Erivo of National Geographic’s “Genius: Aretha,” and Margaret Qualley of Netflix’s “Maid.” Up for the male limited series acting prize are Murray Bartlett of “White Lotus,” Oscar Isaac of HBO’s “Scenes From a Marriage,” Michael Keaton of Hulu’s “Dopesick,” and Emmy winners Ewan McGregor of Netflix’s “Halston” and Evan Peters of “Mare of Easttown” 

Eligibility for these SAG Awards spanned March 1 to Dec. 31, 2021, reflecting another season impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. The SAG Award nominating committees, one for film and one for TV, comprised about 2,500 working actors drawn from the guild’s membership of 160,000. All working SAG-AFTRA members are eligible to participate in voting, which takes place Jan. 19–Feb. 25.

The 28th annual ceremony, on Feb. 27, will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS, from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California. Receiving the 2022 SAG Life Achievement Honor will be actor and philanthropist Helen Mirren. Check out the full list of nominees below. For more, visit www.sagawards.org.

Full Nominations List

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture 
“Don’t Look Up”
“House of Gucci”
“King Richard”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role 
Jessica Chastain, “The Eyes of Tammy Faye”
Olivia Colman, “The Lost Daughter”
Lady Gaga, “House of Gucci”
Jennifer Hudson, “Respect”
Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role 
Javier Bardem, “Being the Ricardos”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog”
Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick...Boom!”
Will Smith, “King Richard”
Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role 
Caitríona Balfe, “Belfast”
Cate Blanchett, “Nightmare Alley”
Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”
Kirsten Dunst, “The Power of the Dog”
Ruth Negga, “Passing”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Ben Affleck, “The Tender Bar”
Bradley Cooper, “Licorice Pizza”
Troy Kotsur, “CODA”
Jared Leto, “House of Gucci”
Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series 
“The Great”
“The Kominsky Method”
“Only Murders in the Building”
“Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series
Elle Fanning, “The Great”
Sandra Oh, “The Chair”
Jean Smart, “Hacks”
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso”
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series
Michael Douglas, “The Kominsky Method”
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Steve Martin, “Only Murders in the Building”
Martin Short, “Only Murders in the Building”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series 
“The Handmaid’s Tale”
“The Morning Show”
“Squid Game”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series 
Jennifer Aniston, “The Morning Show”
Jung Ho-yeon, “Squid Game”
Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Sarah Snook, “Succession”
Reese Witherspoon, “The Morning Show”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Drama Series
Brian Cox, “Succession”
Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”
Kieran Culkin, “Succession”
Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”
Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series
Jennifer Coolidge, “The White Lotus”
Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
Margaret Qualley, “Maid”
Jean Smart, “Mare of Easttown”
Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series
Murray Bartlett, “The White Lotus”
Oscar Isaac, “Scenes From a Marriage”
Michael Keaton, “Dopesick”
Ewan McGregor, “Halston”
Evan Peters, “Mare of Easttown”

Outstanding Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture 
“Black Widow”
“The Matrix Resurrections”
“No Time to Die”
“Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings”

Outstanding Stunt Ensemble in a Comedy or Drama Series
“Cobra Kai”
“The Falcon and the Winter Soldier”
“Mare of Easttown”
“Squid Game”